Snow Falling by kristin

December 3, 2011 at 2:08 pm 7 comments

holiday wrapIndeed it is December. Although it doesn’t snow here in Fort Bragg (or rarely, so locals say), we can make it snow here on our blog, a cozy touch I like. We’ve already had our holiday party here at Living Light. I’m listening to Christmas songs on Pandora as I write these words, and everywhere I turn are announcements of Christmas concerts, craft fairs, cookie sales, and other delights of the season. I haven’t started my Christmas cards yet, or wrapped any presents. But we’ve wrapped up the school year, and Dan and Cherie are going to be working from Costa Rica for the month of December. I’m glad that they are taking a little time to be in a place they love, and I hope they spend some time enjoying the tropics. I’m spending Christmas right here in Fort Bragg – no traveling (a good thing). So I plan to attend some local events and spend a little time with friends here in town. We’re even talking about midnight mass on Christmas eve. Let’s see if that comes together. midnight mass parisRight now Frank (Sinatra) is singing “It Came Upon a Midnight Clear.” That’s it – the reason for the season – peace on earth. Let’s hold that thought in our hearts for the next month.jingle on

Entry filed under: Celebration, Christmas, joyful, Love, raw holidays. Tags: , , , , , , , .

Busy, Busy by mary elizabeth Finding the Spirit by kristin

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. cheryl gautier  |  December 3, 2011 at 3:03 pm

    Miss you at Christmas…rarely does it snow in New Orleans as well but we have been surprised a few times!! I’m part of a new raw food group of just a few people and we’re having a bit of trouble diving in-at least I am. Motherhood and wifehood both seem to get in the way of my ideal healthy lifestyle, even though I do want it for them, too! They are resistant and I am sometimes too tired to fight it! New Orleans is not so eco-friendly but I did go to an eco-cafe on Canal St today. Then Barry and I bought a few plants-hardy greens and herbs and violas, to plant in the front yard and to munch on from time to time. I’ve started a couple of small trays of wheatgrass and my new grass juicer has arrived in the mail ! I’m ready for this change-body and soul-and I feel it coming…!

    Reply
  • 2. livinglightinternational  |  December 5, 2011 at 1:45 pm

    Miss you, too, Cheryl….New Orleans is lovely at the holidays most of the time (except for a memorable year when our pipes burst and everyone was huddled by the living room fireplace.” I still have photos of when you and Stuart were playing outside in a rare snowstorm, too. I think it is great that you are going to be doing more w/raw foods. I think the key for the rest of the family is to just offer some raw options with a meal…kids often like to choose their own stuff from a platter of fruits or veg, and can “wrap and roll” into a lettuce leaf or nori sheet. Provide some kind of a dip or dressing, and they are set to go, without too much extra work on your part. Good luck, dolln’! kristin

    Reply
  • 3. maryelizabethslife  |  December 5, 2011 at 3:19 pm

    lovely post, kristin! and i’m so happy to see the snow again! peace on earth – what a great idea! midnight mass is a great idea, too, and i’m totally in if i’m in town!

    Reply
  • 4. livinglightinternational  |  December 5, 2011 at 4:12 pm

    Let’s keep in touch on that..I’ll have to take a nap in order to stay up past midnight – LOL

    Reply
  • 5. jane  |  December 6, 2011 at 7:45 pm

    Though not at Christmas, the candlelight mass at St Jean de Malte in Aix was about as spiritual as it gets (for me anyway).K

    Reply
  • 6. livinglightinternational  |  December 7, 2011 at 11:27 am

    I so agree…maybe that is my most treasured memory of the trip to France…the voices were so beautiful, and the fire against the night sky. So beautiful. I’ll remember it forever. xxx

    Reply
  • 7. livinglightinternational  |  December 7, 2011 at 11:28 am

    sounds like i’m repeating myself, but you know what I mean…words do not express

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Not a Wordpress user? You can still receive our posts by email. Just enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,726 other followers

RSS Raw Food Chef

  • Save on Gifts of Good Health at Living Light December 4, 2014
    Save on Living Light Classes until December 15 It's the time of the year when we are thinking of the best gift in the world to give to those we love. If we would like to help make sure that our loved ones live healthy and fulfilling lives, what could be better than the gift [...]
  • Living Light Annual Thanksgiving Vegan Potluck! November 26, 2014
    Every year we enjoy hosting a Thanksgiving Potluck here at Living Light Center. It is a festive affair - just imagine 30-40 people bringing vegan and raw vegan dishes to feed 10 people. There is a bounteous amount of food and a convivial group of like-minded vegetarians who gather together from far and near. This [...]
  • Hot Raw Chef Voting Ends Tomorrow! November 14, 2014
    Don't Forget, Do it Now! Every voter will receive the Hot Raw Chef 5 in 5 Holiday Recipe eBook with all of the contestants recipes PLUS a chance to win a Vitamix 7500 Blender The time has come to watch the videos and VOTE NOW for YOUR favorite Hot Raw Chef! It's lots of fun, [...]


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,726 other followers

