Home for the Holidays by mary elizabeth

November 27, 2010 at 1:05 pm 6 comments

So here I am at Living Light after three days off, working an eleven hour day to make up for time lost. My kids, my boyfriend and I braved the snow and spent this holiday with my father and my brother and sister-in-law. The holidays compel me to visit family, which is good because I probably just wouldn’t otherwise. (Unless it gets so gloomy here we have to follow the sun) I’m always so happy to see them – it’s just hard to get the momentum going. Some kind of inertia  keeps me home, like, fifty out of fifty-two weekends a year. That’s okay too, though. It never hurts to stay connected to your local loved ones. Was it worth it? This may not be the best time to ask as it’s almost nine thirty at night and we didn’t get in until about one this morning. But if I could step back for a minute, I’m sure I’d say it was – absolutely.

If you’re a local and staying put this time of year or if you’re making the Mendocino Coast part of your holiday travels, I suggest you come in and check out our Café and Marketplace. First of all, it’s Pastry Arts time here at Living Light which means extra special treats in the Café. Or maybe you’d just like a fresh juice to boost you through a hectic holiday. And the Marketplace is a great place to do some peaceful holiday shopping. We’ve got tons of fabulous culinary tools and tasteful tableware. And don’t forget that holiday bag of mila to keep you on the go. Come in and let Living Light be a part of your season.

Entry filed under: Celebration, gluten free pastries, good life, joyful, Living Light Culinary Arts Institue classes, Living Light Culinary Arts Institute, living light culinary arts institute blog, Living Light Culinary Institute, Living Light Instructors, Living Light students, Love, raw food blog, raw holidays, Raw Travel, raw vegan holiday treats, Romance, Thankful. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

The Family Gathering by kristin Waiting, Wine and Work by hilloah

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. kristin  |  November 30, 2010 at 12:19 pm

    Love this post Mary Elizabeth…especially fun to check the links –I liked the 70s family, and the twirly clock and the great time clock..
    And of course the thought behind it all. This is such an interesting time of the year…isn’t it?

    Reply
    • 2. livinglightinternational  |  November 30, 2010 at 1:51 pm

      thanks, kristin. this IS an interesting time of the year – lots of memories and emotions – and activities! and lots to write about, too.

      Reply
  • 3. Are Those Sleigh Bells? by mary elizabeth « RawFoodChef  |  November 9, 2011 at 3:32 pm

    […] fun holiday blogs, this means celebrating, honoring traditions, entertaining and connecting.  Thanksgiving is in just two short weeks.  Two!  For me this is an opportunity to connect without a lot of […]

    Reply
  • 4. Tis the Season (Almost) by kristin « RawFoodChef  |  November 23, 2011 at 6:21 pm

    […] Yesterday,  fellow blogger Mary Elizabeth, with two kids and her (former) boyfriend in tow, took to the road to visit her Dad for Thanksgiving. Last year they got lots of snow. […]

    Reply
  • 5. Love The Ones You’re With by mary elizabeth « RawFoodChef  |  November 26, 2011 at 5:40 pm

    […] the mountains to see my dad for Thanksgiving.  It was me, my kids and my ex-boyfriend.  Just like last year!  Only the boyfriend wasn’t an ex yet, and last year there was tons of snow on the ground and […]

    Reply
  • 6. Giving Thanks? by mary elizabeth « RawFoodChef  |  November 15, 2012 at 4:44 pm

    […] Thanksgiving really be just a week from today?  Come on.  That’s crazy talk.  Fortunately, each year I do the very same thing so I needn’t come up with any plans and fortunately again, my annual […]

    Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Not a Wordpress user? You can still receive our posts by email. Just enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,740 other subscribers