Raw Lessons by mary elizabeth

January 20, 2011 at 6:11 pm 4 comments

I’m over half way through my month of 100% raw and I must say the whole experience is very illuminating. It’s caused me to think about food a lot more than I normally do – A LOT more! Of course, there’s all the pre-planning and shopping and soaking and whatever else, which can be exhausting for some one like me, but I’ve really had to look at my emotional relationship to food as well. It’s so natural to walk across the lobby and get a cookie when I get a little bored at work. It’s so satisfying to have a slice of cake in the evening to end the day on a positive note. Now, I have to make myself smile without a sweet. It’s not hard – but it does take some thought. And it makes me think about all the crap I used to stuff in my mouth without thinking about it. Anyhow, I feel great! I’m super energized and my hair looks terrific!

One piece of advice I’d give to anyone thinking of doing an all raw diet for any length of time: prepare yourself with some raw culinary skills. The whole thing can get a little overwhelmingly boring if you can’t whip up a couple desserts or fancy entrees. And, if you didn’t guess already, one of the great ways to get these skills is to attend some basic classes at Living Light. We just added a mini series to our 2011 line-up: FUNdamentals of Raw Living Foods, Knife Skills Intensive and the Essentials of Raw Culinary Arts. This trio of classes will get anyone fully prepared to set up a home raw food kitchen where they can prepare delicious meals. We’ve also added the ever popular two day Science of Raw Food Nutrition I so you can learn all about why my hair looks so terrific! Anyhow – we’re running a special for locals, so if you’re in the area and want to go raw, give me a call. I’ll get you registered and give you all my tips for staying the course!

Entry filed under: Essentials of Raw Culinary Arts, FUNdamentals of Raw Living Foods, Living Foods, Living Light Culinary Arts Institue classes, Living Light Culinary Arts Institute, living light culinary arts institute blog, Living Light Culinary Institute, Living Light students, Love, raw food blog, Thankful, Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

January and Inspiration by kristin You DO Make a Difference! by hilloah

4 Comments Add your own

  • […] I attended the dinner as a guest, and was able to see it from a completely new perspective.  Many Living Light employees attended, along with some family members of the  students.  Friends and family are always invited […]

    Reply
  • 2. Brett  |  January 25, 2011 at 7:32 pm

    …very happy for you Mary! I can relate to a lot of what you said. it really does bring on a new awareness when we take the time to go raw. It’s RAWSOME…!” ; -]

    Reply
  • 3. Yum! by mary elizabeth « RawFoodChef  |  February 25, 2011 at 1:47 pm

    […] day menus, and we’re sneaking up on veganism. If you really want to put your eating habits into perspective, I suggest you go raw for a month. And if you do, may I also suggest you keep within reach of the […]

    Reply
  • 4. Graduation Day by mary elizabeth « RawFoodChef  |  September 21, 2011 at 5:35 pm

    […] to take their new raw culinary skills home with them.  That’s where the real test comes – at home.  I’d happily be raw all day every day if I lived upstairs in the culinary studio.  Anyhow […]

    Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Not a Wordpress user? You can still receive our posts by email. Just enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,740 other subscribers